PDA

View Full Version : Dez Wells sues Xavier.

Pages : [1] 2

PMI
08-20-2013, 09:24 PM
http://sports.yahoo.com/news/ncaab--maryland-guard-dez-wells-suing-xavier-for-expulsion-021302176.html

Hope he wins.

I'm no lawyer, but I imagine that since Xavier expelled him for "breaking the Student Code of Conduct," it will be tough for him to win this. It sucks that this story is resurfacing, but I don't blame him one bit.

mistabeecee41
08-20-2013, 09:24 PM
http://sports.yahoo.com/news/ncaab--maryland-guard-dez-wells-suing-xavier-for-expulsion-021302176.html

Kahns Krazy
08-20-2013, 09:32 PM
Oh good. I was hoping this story would come back up.

BMoreX
08-20-2013, 09:32 PM
Ugh, I thought this was over.

XU 87
08-20-2013, 09:36 PM
I don't. While I think this should have been handled differently, and I don't think he should have been expelled, he got his hearing and lost. This is a slippery slope if universities are going to get sued because they followed federal law. And if Joe Deters thought this was such a sham, why did he even present the case to the grand jury? Joe Deters is just another politician who will do anything to get his name in the media.

People complained about how X handled the two cases before Dez (too soft on the accused), and then complain that X was too tough on the accused (Dez). X was in a no-win situation.

If you want to blame someone, blame the federal government for putting its foot up X's ass and for having all their mandates which X had to follow.

Maybe Dez should have filed this lawsuit last year and asked to be reinstated instead of now asking for a few million dollars a year later.

STL_XUfan
08-20-2013, 09:37 PM
I'm no lawyer, but I imagine that since Xavier expelled him for "breaking the Student Code of Conduct," it will be tough for him to win this. It sucks that this story is resurfacing, but I don't blame him one bit.